West End $10,000 Classic a success!

April 21, 2022

The bringing back to life of the West End 10,000 Classic over Easter has been hailed as a resounding success by all of those involved in the Shifty’s Sports Bar-sponsored event.

The tournament has been absent from the Taranaki programme for some 15 years and its return was well received. While the majority of sides were from within Taranaki, there was a sprinkling of players from outside the province, who lapped up the ideal weather and greens running at high speed.

While the original classic format was not used – just fours and pairs – that suited the participants as they were able to devour the delights from the West End kitchen in between times.

Paritutu’s highly consistent and competent competitor, Darren Goodin, took out the top prize of $1,000 per player. His side had only just sneaked into the top flight after a mixed opening day.

But when the money was on show, there was no denying Goodin and his side of Nathan Goodin (no relation), Allan Batley and Adam Collins.

Heading into the last round, Goodin’s side was one of three unbeaten teams – along with Inglewood’s Gerry O’Sullivan and Ross Henderson from the host club.

Henderson, a former top basketball coach reinvented himself as a top lead during the weekend, but his side, after dropping an eight on the second end of the last round, crashed and burned to finish third.

O’Sullivan, who’s side included Bruce Candy the proprietor of Shifty’s, despite also falling in the final round, held on for second, with Paritutu’s Don Christensen claiming fourth.

West End’s Dean Elgar skipped his side to the second division title.

The smooth running of the event was greatly aided by the experienced trio in charge: Graham Johnson, Garry Murfitt and Brien Bennett QSM.

The positive atmosphere and comments left Candy in no doubt about the future prospects of the event. “In fact, I’ll throw in another couple of thousand next year to make it even more interesting,” he said.

* The original West End Classic was held in 1982, some 40 years ago, and was Taranaki’s first-ever professional event.

It drew a maximum field of 42 teams – including recent Commonwealth Games representatives Jim Scott, Peter Belliss, Danny O’Connor and Rowan Brassey. Also competing was Maurice Symes, who took part again in 2022 ahead of his return to his native Taranaki in June. Symes has accepted the greenkeeping position with the Fitzroy Club.

The 1982 winners were skipped by Fitzroy gold star holder John Howie, who teamed with Alan Crow – less than a month later he skipped Bruce John to the Dominion pairs title – Rodger Hassall and the delightful Hungarian, Johnny Nagy.

Bruce Ballinger (Paritutu) was second from Kevin Wing (Palmerston North) and Belliss.

2022 Shifty’s Sports Bar West End 10,000 Classic results:

Division 1

First: Nathan Goodin, Allan Batley, Adam Collins, Darren Goodin (Paritutu)

Second: Danny O’Sullivan, Bruce Candy, Eric Foreman, Gerry O’Sullivan (Composite)

Third: Ross Henderson, Dennis Moeller, John Sexton, Grant Hassall (West End)

Fourth: John Cottam, Kevin Gledhill, Daryl Read, Don Christensen (Paritutu)

Division 2

First: Camron Horo, Bruce Hall, Paul Anderson, Dean Elgar (Composite)

Second: Steve Sabine, Bernie O’Sullivan, Graham Reive, Paul Howell (Inglewood)

Third: John Roberts, Grant Pease, John Gray, Russell Hardy (Composite)