Queen’s Birthday Weekend Trans-Tasman team named

The Bowls New Zealand selectors have today named the BlackJacks and ParaJacks teams to contest the upcoming Trans-Tasman Trophy. This event is being held on a bespoke ‘slow’ surface at Club Tamborine Mountain (Gold Coast) from the 4th to the 6th of June. 

This event will offer excellent preparation for the conditions expected at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games – Royal Leamington Spa Bowling Club. 

The new caps named are Nicole Toomey, Pam Walker and Gerald Brouwers – each will make their debut for New Zealand, in this clash of the Tasman. 

Tony Grantham and Mike Galloway have both been recalled to the BlackJacks side after strong performances at national events in recent years. 

The full teams are: 



  • Mark Noble 
  • Graham Skellern 
  • Gerald Brouwers (VI) & Kevin Smith (Dir) 


  • Lynda Bennett   
  • Pam Walker  
  • Sue Curran (VI) & Bronwyn Milne (Dir)  



  • Ali Forsyth  
  • Mike Galloway
  • Tony Grantham
  • Andrew Kelly
  • Shannon McIlroy 


  • Tayla Bruce 
  • Selina Goddard 
  • Katelyn Inch 
  • Val Smith 
  • Nicole Toomey 

*Gary Lawson has made himself unavailable for this international event.  

** Deane Robertson is not eligible for this event, and has been replaced by Gerald Brouwers.

Coverage of this event will be available on the Bowls New Zealand website and social media channels.