MINUTES OF THE 29th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NEW ZEALAND

HELD AT Bowls New Zealand offices (Ponsonby) and via Teams video link



ON SATURDAY, 14TH SEPTEMBER 2024 AT 10.00AM

1. OPENING AND WELCOME

The Chair opened the meeting by welcoming those present to the 29th Annual General Meeting, with a special welcome to Life Members and Patron.

2. OBITUARIES

The Chair asked the meeting to observe a moments silence to mark those members of the bowls community (including Wynette McLachlan) that we have lost over the past 12 months.

3. IN ATTENDANCE

Tony Lepper ONZM, Chair Phillip Huwyler, President Ann Wright, Board Member Mark O'Connor, Board Member Nicola Simpson, Board Member Scott Pickering, Board Member Chris Kibblewhite, Board Member Sharon Sims MNZM, Patron Jean Ashby ONZM, Life Member Mark Cameron, CEO

Centre Delegates (eligible votes)

Buller (1) Canterbury (6)	Dave Parry Lorraine McLeod
Central Otago (2)	Pauline Seaton
Counties Manukau (1)	Ewen McIntyre
Dunedin (3)	Dot Mowat
Hawkes Bay (2)	Peter Bryant
Kapiti Coast (2)	Dave Burrage
Manawatu (2)	Warwick Fredericksen
Nelson (1)	Dave Edwards
North Harbour (3)	Neil Connell
Northland (2)	Leigh Ogier
South Canterbury (1)	Graham Stoddart
South Otago (1)	Murray Patterson
Southland (3)	Paul McEntyre
Taranaki (3)	Robert Wolfe
Thames Valley (2)	David Gillingham
Waikato (3)	Vicki Coll
Wairarapa (1)	Garry Muriwai
Wellington (3)	Blake Signal

Also present: Martin Mackenzie, Chris Lander and Julie Blake of Bowls New Zealand, Steve Ford (Nelson) & Wayne Tukiri of RSM Hayes.

4. APOLOGIES

Bowls Gisborne East Coast, Bowls West Coast, Martin Christensen and John Carter (Life Members), Sarah Dunning of Sport NZ.

5. <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE 28th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NZ – HELD</u> IN AUCKLAND ON THE 16TH SEPTEMBER 2023

"That the Minutes of the 28th Annual General Meeting of Bowls New Zealand, held in Auckland on the 16th September 2023 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting."

MOVED: Lorraine McLeod (Canterbury) SECONDED: Dot Mowat (Dunedin) CARRIED

6. <u>RECEIVING OF THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE BOARD FOR THE 12 MONTHS ENDING 30TH JUNE 2024,</u> <u>TOGETHER WITH STATEMENT OF INCOME AND EXPENDITURE AND AUDITED STATEMENT OF</u> <u>ACCOUNTS FOR BOWLS NZ FOR THE FINANCIAL PERIOD</u>

Chair Tony Lepper spoke to his report and the growth of the game over the past 12 months.

President Phillip Huwyler spoke to his report and thanked the bowls community for his time as President of Bowls New Zealand.

The CEO Mark Cameron then addressed the meeting by speaking to the financials.

RECEIVING THE AUDITORS REPORT ON THE ACCOUNTS OF BOWLS NZ FOR THE PRECEDING FINANCIAL YEAR

"That the Annual Report including the Statement of Income and Expenditure and Audited Statement of Accounts for Bowls New Zealand for the Financial year, together with the Auditor's Report on the Accounts of Bowls New Zealand for the preceding Financial year be received, approved and adopted."

MOVED: Leigh Ogier (Northland) SECONDED: Neil Connell (North Harbour) CARRIED

7. THE ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND DELEGATES ELECTED MEMBER

No election of these officials was required at this meeting.

8. THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF BOWLS NZ

"The Bowls New Zealand Board Selection Panel recommended that Mark O'Connor, Scott Pickering and Garry Muriwai be appointed to the Board of Bowls New Zealand for a full term of three years.

MOVED: Neil Connell (North Harbour) SECONDED: Blake Signal (Wellington) CARRIED

Scott Pickering and Garry Muriwai spoke to the meeting.

9. BOWLS NEW ZEALAND CLUB AFFILIATION FEE FOR 2024/2025

The Chair confirmed that the November 2024 Club Affiliation fee will increase by the annual published CPI (4.0%).

10. THE APPOINTMENT OF AN AUDITOR FOR THE NEXT FINANCIAL YEAR

"That RSM Hayes be appointed as the Auditors for Bowls New Zealand for the 2024/2025 financial year."

MOVED: Dave Edwards (Nelson) SECONDED: Pauline Seaton (Central Otago) CARRIED

11. THE APPOINTMENT OF A PERSON TO THE BOARD SELECTION PANEL AND A DEPUTY

The Chair then confirmed that as there was only the one nomination that Ian Dee (Bowls Auckland) be duly elected as the Delegates appointed member to the Board Selection panel for the 2024/2025. The Chair did speak to the fact that a deputy could be elected, but as no further nominations had been received the meeting would not elect a deputy at this time.

MOVED Dave Edwards (Nelson) SECONDED: Ewen McIntyre (Counties Manukau)CARRIED

12. <u>CONSIDERING AND DETERMINING ANY NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH PROPOSE ALTERATIONS TO</u> <u>THE CONSTITUTION OF WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN</u>

There were no Notices of Motion for consideration at the Annual General Meeting, as submitted by the Board of Bowls New Zealand, pursuant to Rule 21.1.2(x) of the Bowls NZ Constitution. These notices of motion refer to alterations to the Bowls NZ constitution.

13. <u>CONSIDERING AND MAKING RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE BOARD AS A RESULT OF ANY OTHER</u> NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

There was one (1) Notice of Motion for consideration at the Annual General Meeting, received by a centre. This Notice of Motion was dealt with pursuant to Rule 21.2(xi) of the Bowls NZ Constitution.

Bowls Wanganui put forward the following motion: "That the runner-up of any Champ of Champ event be able to participate in the National Club Champs if the winner is unable to attend. Reason - So every Centre has a chance to be represented."

There was no discussion on this motion, with no delegate either speaking to the motion or moving the motion for consideration.

14. OTHER BUSINESS

Under other business the Chair invited the Bowls NZ President Phillip Huwyler to announce the Bowls New Zealand Summerset Award winners for 2024.

Club of the Year – Club Redcliff's Club Person of the Year – Donna Cross (Mount Eden Bowling Club) Club Person of the Year – Murray Heath (Waihopai Bowling Club) Coach of the Year – Vince Roper (Nelson) Greenkeeper of the Year – Paritutu Bowling Club (Mike Walsh, Don Christensen, Ian Andrews, Aiden Zittersteijn) Umpire of the Year – Wendy Suttie (Canterbury) Open Disability Player of the Year – Hazel Littlejohn (Canterbury) Emerging Player of the Year – Kaylin Huwyler (Taranaki and Wanganui) Male Player of the Year – Sheldon Bagrie-Howley (Southland) Female Player of the Year – Tayla Bruce (Canterbury))

Before closing the meeting, Mark O'Connor thanked Tony Lepper for his services to Bowls New Zealand over the past nine years, including seven years as Chair. Tony has stepped down from the Bowls NZ Board in accordance with the Bowls NZ Constitution.

Meeting Closed at 10.39am, with thanks to all delegates and observers for their attendance.