Upsets aplenty on day two of post-section play

Event News, Featured, News

Tayla Bruce ad Selina Goddard

Gary Lawson will leave the 2019 Summerset National Singles and Pairs empty-handed.

The record-setting 13-time national champion has crashed out of post-section play in the men’s pairs, 24 hours after exiting the men’s singles.

He and Jamie Hill (Eastbourne) have been beaten 16-14 by Karl Garrett and Colin Gawith (Composite) in the last 16, ending Lawson’s quest to win three straight national pairs titles with three different playing partners.

Garrett and Gawith will meet Richard Hocking and Lloyd Fitness (Composite) in the quarter-finals tomorrow morning (January 7) after they accounted for Duane McDonald and Grant Goodwin (Riverhead), Brent Malcolm and Jerry Belcher (Composite) and Graham Skellern and Brett O’Reilly (Takapuna) in the first three knock-out rounds.

The other last eight meeting in the bottom half of the draw will pit Ray Martin and Richard Corry (Victoria) against Maurice Symes and Tony Grantham (Composite).

Martin and Corry overcame the experienced Richard Girvan and Chris Le Lievre (Composite) 16-15 in the round of 16, while Symes and Grantham, the 2014 champion, had a trouble-free run through post-section play.

Rising stars Sheldon Bagrie-Howley and Seamus Curtin and Bowls3Five televised league winners Aiden Takarua and Alex Reed were amongst those to lose in the first knockout round.

There were also a few upsets in the top half of the draw of the men’s pairs, with 2015 winners and local hopefuls Rob Ashton and Petar Sain (Carlton Cornwall), last year’s semi-finalists Shannon McIlroy and Justin Goodwin (Composite) and 2018 Auckland bowlers of the year Mike Galloway and Martin Dixon (Royal Oak) unable to progress to the quarter-finals.

Instead John Petelo and Steve Hoeft (Point Chevalier) will square-off against Chris Lowe and Jordan King (Mangere), and Dean Elgar and Gerry O’Sullivan (Composite) will meet Adam Hayward and Brent Turner (Browns Bay).

The semi-finalists have been found in the women’s pairs, with local hope and 2017 champion Selina Goddard (Carlton Cornwall) amongst them.

Goddard has booked her place in the final four with straightforward wins over Gail Clark (Point Chevalier) and Doreen Jensen (Onehunga District) before accounting for Blackjack Tayla Bruce 21-12 in the quarter-finals.

Bruce earlier eliminated Goddard’s club-mate Ashleigh Jeffcoat (Carlton Cornwall), while 2010 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Val Smith (United) and 2015 national champion Leigh Griffin (Victoria) were amongst the other early casualties. 

Goddard will meet Sarah Scott (Te Rangi) for a place in the final tomorrow (January 7) after Scott was equally impressive in dismissing, Sheila Putu (St Heliers) and Chelsea Farley (Balmoral) in post-section play. Scott was handed the win in her match up against Helen Blick with a retirement through injury.

Debbie White (Hinuera) and Kirsten Edwards (Stoke) have emerged from the bottom half of the draw as they chase their maiden national singles titles.

White booked a place in the semi-finals after comfortably overcoming Estelle Hickey (Carlton Cornwall), Dale Rayner (Johnsonville) and Bronwyn Stevens (Te Rangi), while Edwards edged Lisa Parlane (Orewa) 21-19 in the last eight after earlier accounting for Karen De Jongh (Hillcrest) and Nicole Toomey (Victoria).

Post-section play will continue tomorrow (January 7), with quarter-finals and semi-finals in the men’s singles and pairs and semi-finals in the women’s singles and pairs, before the finals on Tuesday (January 8).


For full results:  visit