Hometown skip lifts Alexandra ANZAC Fours Trophy

Event News, News

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Central Otago/Dunedin composite of Trevor Drake, Lindsay Thomas, Maurice Keith and Martin Kreft were in fine form, taking out the coveted Alexandra ANZAC Men’s Fours prized silverware.

Now in its 49th year, the tournament has long attracted some of the South Island’s top bowlers to the sun-soaked Central Otago region, with several teams and players also making the trip across the ditch to be involved in the weekend action (April 13/14).

This year’s event, endorsed as part of the Bowls New Zealand Summer of Bowls programme, saw 57 teams from Rangiora to Bluff take to the greens in cool, autumn conditions, with the aim to qualify in the top 16 and keep their main event chances alive after day one.

Day two saw the top 16 split into four sections of four, with a three-match round robin played to reveal the winner of each section, and subsequent semi-finalists.

The final saw Drake’s side take on the composite line-up of Dave Archer, Bill Clements, Trevor Ludlow and Bill Johnson, with Drake, playing on his home green, running out the winner, 13-4 to secure the coveted ANZAC Shield and the winners’ cheque.

In other results, former Southland representative Andrew MacGregor, Lindsay Harliwich, Wayne Stewart and Richie Kerr took out the Plate, with last year’s winners Shaun Scott, Caleb Hope, Fraser Purdue and Paul Calvert settling for the Flight Event spoils.

Meanwhile, Tom Malcolm’s Central Otago side of Simon Nyhof, Les Wilson and Alan Brash proved too strong in the Consolation One event, while Rex Sim, playing in his 49th Anzac tournament, combined with P Stumbles, C Horgan and K Ellwood to secure the Consolation Two prize pool.

The final presentation of the weekend went the way of S Archer, P Dennison, T Cowan and P Spooner for their winning efforts in the Consolation Three tier.

The annual Alexandra Men’s ANZAC Fours tournament will return next year, celebrating its 50th year and hoping to attract past winners throughout the decades.


-Sam Morton

49th Alexandra ANZAC Men’s Fours, Central Otago

Main Event
Champion: Trevor Drake, Lindsay Thomas, Maurice Keith, Martin Kreft
Runner-up: Dave Archer, Bill Clements, Trevor Ludlow, Bill Johnson

A MacGregor, L Harliwich W Stewart W Kerr

P Calvert, S Scott, F Purdue C Hope

Consolation One  
T Malcolm S Nyhof, L Wilson, A Brash

Consolation Two
R Sim, P Stumbles, C Horgan K Ellwood

Consolation Three
S Archer,P Dennison, T Cowan, P Spooner