Club Mount Maunganui Four Toast of Chartered Clubs’ Community

Event News, News

The Mt Maunganui Club side of Phill Morgan, Alan Jones, John Simons and Reg Archer overcame a star lineup of teams to take out top honour at the 2019 Clubs New Zealand National Men’s Outdoor Bowls Tournament, claiming the Moase Cup for their efforts.

Now in its 46th year, the tournament has been a significant draw card on the Clubs New Zealand calendar for decades, attracting a good blend of well known campaigners and lesser known provincial players, in a bid to be recognised as the best performed Chartered Club side and enjoy national honours.

Endorsed as part of the Summer of Bowls programme, players converged at the host complex of the St John’s CLub in Wanganui – with the Wanganui Club also in full cheer to celebrate their 125th Jubilee Year.

Held in pleasant conditions throughout, more than 110 combinations took to the greens with play rolling out at the St John’s, Aramoho, Durie Hill, Gonville, Laird Park, Wanganui and Wanganui East greens respectively, with the St John’s Bowling Club named as event headquarters.

The first three days of the competition saw teams contest eight rounds of section play, with teams required to tally up six wins or top their section to qualify and advance to the Main Event (Moase Cup).

At the completion of qualifying, 26 teams had done enough to keep their hopes alive, with the non-qualifiers given a second opportunity to contest the Kelly Plate – of which six sides chose to.

After several rounds of post-section, the Moase Cup semi-finalists were found, with Morgan’s side joining Club Northland’s Warwick Edgar, Porirua’s Phill Todd and Whangamata skip John McConnell as the last teams standing.

In the final, Edgar’s line-up of Ian Bowick, Ian McMurchy and Bill Harris, despite their impressive tournament form, came unstuck against Morgan and Co, with the latter running out this year’s champions 27-24 in a thrilling conclusion and claiming the $2200 winners’ cheque.

The last four matchups saw Edgar defeat McConnell, while Morgan’s four proved clinical opposite Todd’s quartet.

Meanwhile, the post-section consolation event, (comprising first round losers from the Moase Cup), proved hotly contested with Les Smith’s local side of fellow Wanganui East Club members Neville Grant, Ray Savage and Peter Head taking the spoils – defeating Paddy Breslin’s Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club line-up 18-14 in the final and claiming the Jim Dempsey Trophy, along with a cool $800.

In other results, Porirua’s Patrick McCleary, Kurt Burgess, John Conley and Kevan Kelly rounded their week out with a victory in the Kelly Plate, defeating the challenge put forward by South Wairarapa Workingmens Club hopefuls Steve Willis, Paul Manning, Josef Hajnos and Adrian Tregurtha, pocketing $600 for their efforts and securing the silverware until next year’s tournament.

The 2020 Clubs New Zealand National Men’s Outdoor tournament will be hosted by the Petone Workingmens Club, with plans already well underway to host a successful 47th edition.


                                                                                                                        -Sam Morton

Results at a Glance

Clubs New Zealand National Men’s Outdoor Bowls, Wanganui

Main Event (Moase Cup)

Winner: Phill Morgan, Alan Jones, John Simons, Reg Archer (Mt Maunganui Club)

R/Up: Warwick Edgar, Ian Bowick, Ian McMurchy, Bill Harris (Northland Club)

Post-Section Consolation (Jim Dempsey Trophy)

Winner:Les Smith, Ray Savage, Neville Grant, Peter Head (Wanganui East Club)
R/Up: Paddy Breslin, Peter Ireland, Geoff Laird, Tony Lee (Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club)

Consolation (Kelly Plate)

Winner: Patrick McCleary, Kurt Burgess, John Conley, Kevan Kelly (Porirua Club)
R/Up: Steve Willis, Paul Manning, Josef Hajnos, Adrian Tregurtha (South Wairarapa Workingmens Club)