Burnside invitational pairs


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Burnside Bowling Club will once again host some of Australia’s and New Zealand’s finest bowling talent in this years Stewart Buttar- Burnside Pairs Invitation event.

The prestigious $11,200 tournament which has Mike Pero and supporting sponsors Speights and Heartland Bank as its major sponsors is without question one of NZ’s premier club events.

This years field includes four very well performed Australian selections and a number of New Zealand players who have performed with distinction at the recent nationals and in other national and international events.

Australia has Scott Thulborn , current World Singles Champion of Champion and skipped the four to win the Australian open event last year and his partner Corey Wedlock who has won the Hong Kong Pairs two years in a row. Their ladies selection will be skipped by Kristina Krstic who has won both the World Junior Singles and Pairs and her partner is 18 year old Tiffany Brodie who won the Under 25 Singles at last years Australian Open and was in the Australian Trans Tasman team at the last event.

Leading NZ ladies Katelyn Inch and Angela Boyd team up and from a NZ point of view will be well supported by pairs such as Rob Ashton and Peter Sain, Sean O’Neill and Shaun Scott, Aucklanders Chris Lowe and Jordan King and seven teams that incude previous winners or the tournament including last years winners Sanji Prasad and Andre Smith back to defend their title.

In total out of a field of 96 invited players 26 have won National titles including Tayla Bruce, Lance Tasker and Ashleigh Jeffcoat at this years nationals.

The Burnside Bowling Club invites any interested spectators to come along throughout the event free of charge to witness what is sure to be an outstanding three days of bowls.