Ashleigh Jeffcoat and Dale Rayner move on in women’s pairs in national bowls championships


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Written by Grant Hassell for

Frankton Junction’s Ashleigh Jeffcoat and Johnsonville’s Dale Rayner stormed home over the closing stages of their semifinal of the women’s pairs at the New Zealand Bowls Championships in New Plymouth on Friday to book a place in Sunday’s final.

The duo were in trouble, 17-13 behind Linda Ralph (Carlton Cornwall) and Reen Stratford (Aramoho) before they grabbed a single, a five and two to open up a four-shot advantage playing the last end. Jeffcoat and Rayner restricted the scoring to just one, to take the match 21-18.

In the final they will play Wanganui’s Dot Belliss and Denise Taylor, after the river city combination beat Val Keightley (Paritutu) and Estelle Hickey (Carlton Cornwall) 18-12 in the other semi.

Belliss and Taylor had led 12-2, before Keightley and Hickey closed the margin to 12-10. However, Belliss and Taylor won five of the last seven ends to prevail.

International star Jo Edwards (United) underlined her class when she skipped Val Smith, Kirsten Griffin and Tayla Bruce into the women’s fours final after a thrilling 18-17 win over Wanganui’s Ann Loveridge.

Edwards and Loveridge were 6-all after six ends, then 11-all after 11 ends. A four and a single gave the edge to Edwards, but Loveridge replied in kind, to make it 16-all with three to go. A single each way set up the grandstand finish. Wanganui held the shot on the changeover, however, Edwards drove off the shot. Loveridge connected with the counting bowl with her final delivery but did not dislodge it far enough.

The other finalist is Naenae’s Lisa White’s side of Kimberley Hemingway, Natasha Russell and Jessie Macaw. They beat Sarah Scott (North East Valley) 18-10. White led 8-4 after eight ends but the contest was still open at the 11th end with the score 9-6. The next four ends went the way of the Wellington side, creating a game-winning 15-6 lead. Scott’s team replied with a four, but the greater consistency of the women from the capital saw them score on the last two ends.

There are nine players left in the men’s singles after three rounds were completed on Friday.

The most advanced player is Eric Pattillo, formerly of Kensington and now of Tauranga South. He beat promising youngster Finbar McGuigan (Plimmerton) in the only fourth round game played, which was a quarterfinal. The other scheduled fourth game of the day were put on hold to allow the men’s fours semifinals to be played.

The four players into the quarterfinals are Raymond Martin (Victoria), Blake Signal (Stokes Valley), Dean Elgar (West End) and Paul Sorensen (Napier). Into the last 16 are Gary Lawson (Sumner), Mike Solomon (Eastbourne), Mike Bradshaw (Onehunga & Districts) and Richard Girvan (Onehunga).

Meanwhile, both men’s fours semifinals, which finished after 8pm, turned into thrilling contests. The finalists are Dean Elgar and his side of John Garrud, Neil Candy and Gerry O’Sullivan, and Peter Belliss’ team of Lance Tasker, Blake Signal and Richard Girvan.

Belliss beat Dean Drummond’s side of Seamus Curtin, Lloyd Fitness and Richard Hocking 21-18 in a fluctuating contest. Belliss led 9-4 after six, but Drummond turned it around to 12-9 in front after nine. Three ends later Belliss was up 18-12, before Drummond tied it up 18-all with two to go. A single and a two secured the match for Belliss.

Elgar’s team scored a deserved victory over Ali Forsyth’s quartet of John Young, Paul Titcombe and Tony Wood 19-17. Elgar led 11-6 after eight ends, but a four to Forsyth on the 10th levelled the scores. The teams still could not be separated after 15 ends before a spectacular 16th head. Forsyth trailed the jack for three, but Elgar in turn trailed it back for one. A three on the penultimate end gave Elgar a four-shot lead, and Forsyth could only manage two on the last.

The fours finals will be played on Saturday morning, with the pairs finals scheduled for 9am on Sunday, followed by the singles finals.

At a glance

Results of post-section play in the women’s events at the New Zealand Bowls Championships on Friday.

Pairs, quarterfinals: A Jeffcoat (Frankton Junction)/D Rayner (Johnsonville) 22 S Curran/C Bien (St Heliers) 4, L Ralph (Carlton Cornwall)/R Stratford (Aramoho) 18 D White (Hinuera) 10, D Belliss/D Taylor (Wanganui) 15 M Carey/V McEldowney (New Plymouth) 14, V Keightley (Paritutu)/E Hickey (Carlton Cornwall) 22 L Poulson (Pukekohe)/N Grimshaw (Papakura) 10.

Semifinals: Jeffcoat/Rayner 21 Ralph/Stratford 18, Belliss/Taylor 18 Keightley/Hickey 12.

Fours, semifinals: T Bruce (Burnside)/K Edwards (United)/V Smith (Merrylands)/J Edwards (United) 18 R Rintoul (Victoria)/D Patterson (Wanganui)/M Constantine (Wanganui East)/A Loveridge (Wanganui) 17, K Hemingway (Naenae)/N Russell (Clayton)/J Macaw (Naenae)/L White (Naenae) 18 D White (Hinuera)/B Stevens (Te Rangi)/K Inch (Oxford WMC)/S Scott (North East Valley) 10.

Results of post-section in the men’s singles.

Round 1: G Growcott (Blockhouse Bay) 21 S Settle (Hinuera) 9, G Lawson (Sumner) 21 D Carr (Johnsonville) 12, P Sain (Carlton Cornwall) 21 S Harrison (Balmoral) 16, N Tomsett (Gate Pa) 21 A Zittersteijn (Vogeltown) 19, M Solomon (Eastbourne) 21 M Finlay (Upper Hutt) 5, G Cotter (Stadium) 21 P Corney (Aramoho) 17, T Garelja (Carlton Cornwall) beat I Lewis (Opononi) by default, S Roberts (Nolantown) 21 A Forsyth (Nelson) 10, L Tasker (Tauranga) 21 G Hall (Havelock North) 9, M Bradshaw (Onehunga & Districts) 21 I Fisher (Howick) 8, M Noble (Takaro) 21 B Baldwin (Paritutu) 18, R Girvan (Onehunga) 21 S Curtin (Stokes Valley) 18, T Turua (Bridge Park) 21 B Harris (Johnston Park) 15, P McKinnel (Elmwood) 21 D Brewster (Hikurangi) 14, D Goodin (Paritutu) 21 T Wood (Ringwood) 20.

Round 2: R Hocking (Burnside) 21 F Pollock (Hawera Park) 9, R Martin (Victoria) 21 G Crow (Paritutu) 8, J Hill (Eastbourne) 21 B Robertson (Helensville) 17, C Barrett (Inglewood) 21 C Gush (Northern) 16, R Skoglund (Carlton Cornwall) 21 S Rogers (Terrace End) 16, A Hill (Hampstead) 21 C Phillips (Alton) 16, B Signal (Stokes Valley) 21 L Mataora (Bridge Park) 7, W Marsic (Carlton Cornwall) 21 P Houlahan (Alexandra) 12, K Deegan (Opunake) 21 N Candy (West End) 18, S McCartain (Gate Pa) 21 L Guy (Victoria) 9, F McGuigan (Plimmerton) 21 N Fisher (Howick) 13, J Swift (Paraparaumu Beach) 21 M Andrews (Lyall Bay) 20, E Pattillo (Tauranga South) 21 J Horwell (Kaikorai) 7, C Hope (Waverley) 21 T Rayner (Tawa) 2, B Amer (Johnsonville) 21 D Ball (Mt Wellington) 9, G Down (Plimmerton) 21 C Rintoul (Victoria) 13, D Elgar (West End) 21 R Ashton (Carlton Cornwall) 8, D Cameron (Hikurangi) 21 J Zino (Island Bay) 17, P Belliss (Aramoho) 21 C Wright (Durie Hill) 8, R Stevens (Waikiwi) 21 C Gawith (Coromandel) 12, B Down (Victoria) 21 L Fitness (Taradale) 10, P Sorensen (Napier) 21 R Park (Wanganui) 18, C MacDonnell (Riverside) 21 N Hill (Onehunga & Districts) 13, N Rodda (Victoria) 21 M Jelley (Mairangi Bay) 17, G Pease (Fitzroy) 21 Growcott 17, Lawson 21 Sain 13, Solomon 21 Tomsett 14, Cotter 21 Garelja 19, Roberts 21 Tasker 20, Bradshaw 21 Noble 8, Girvan 21 Turua 16, Goodin 21 McKinnel 9.

Round 3: Martin 21 Hocking 13, Hill 21 Barrett 5, Skoglund 21 Hill 3, Signal 21 Marsic 11, McCartain 21 Deegan 19, McGuigan 21 Swift 9, Pattillo 21 Hope 17, Amer 21 G Down 15, Elgar 21 Cameron11, Belliss 21 Stevens 18, Sorensen 21 B Down 16, Rodda 21 MacDonnell 14, Lawson 21 Pease 7, Solomon 21 Cotter 18, Bradshaw 21 Roberts 8, Girvan 21 Goodin 17. Round 4 (part): Martin 21 Hill 15, Signal 21 Skoglund 20, McGuigan 21 McCartain 13, Pattillo 21 Amer 17. Round 5 (part) Pattillo 21 McGuigan 18.

Round 4 (part): Martin 21 Hill 15, Signal 21 Skoglund 20, McGuigan 21 McCartain 13, Pattillo 21 Amer 17.

Round 5 (part): Pattillo 21 McGuigan 18.

Ashleigh Jeffcoat. Photo supplied