Craig Merrilees Named in Island Team

Event News, Featured, High Performance, News

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Craig Merrilees (Waikiwi Bowling Club) will replace Andrew Kelly for the North vs South Challenge to be held on the 26-28th November.

Andrew Kelly has withdrawn for personal reasons. 

Craig has been a well known and respected bowler in his home Centre of Southland for a number of years, and has recently come to prominence on the national scene through appearances for the Gore Rams in the Bowls3Five televised league.

The North v South Challenge will be contested at the Hopes Dunedin Indoor Stadium, 26-28th November in a Ryder Cup type format with 18 players announced including some of the legends of the game.

Teams have eight male and eight female competitors as well as two para bowlers (male and female) for each team.

Day one of the event will feature two men’s and two women’s fours. Day two is nine mixed pairs (including mixed para pairs) and the final day is a huge 18 singles (including para bowlers v para bowlers).

In the past there have been North v South events but not in this new competition format and not always on a regular basis.

Teams listed below followed by club.

North team:

Women: Clare Hendra (Silverstream), Selina Smith (Takapuna), Ashleigh Jeffcoat (Carlton Cornwall), Lisa Prideaux (Carlton Cornwell), Debbie White (Hinuera, Hamilton), Leeane Poulson (Papakura), Nicole Toomey (Victoria), Dale Rayner (Johnsonville), Lynda Bennett (Te Awamutu).

Men: Seamus Curtin (Stokes Valley), Dan Dickison (Tauranga), Jamie Hill (Mt Albert), Ray Martin (Victoria), Finbar McGuigan (Stokes Valley), Tony Grantham (Mt Albert), Michael Galloway (Royal Oak), Rory Soden (Carlton Cornwall), Graham Skellern (Takapuna),

Non-Playing Captain - Sharon Sims (Takaro) and Team Manager Mike Carroll (Stokes Valley)

South team:

Women: Tayla Bruce (Burnside), Jo Edwards (Nelson), Sandra Keith (Allenton), Linley O’Callagan (Alexandra), Sarah Scott (North East Valley), Bronwyn Stevens (North East Valley), Barbara McGregor (United), Val Smith (Nelson), Pam Walker (Omakau).

Men: Sheldon Bagrie-Howley (Gore), Keanu Darby (North East Valley), Kelvin Scott , Craig Merrilees (Waikiwi), Mike Kernaghan (North East Valley), Gary Lawson (Elmwood Park), Shannon McIlroy (Stoke), Lance Pascoe (Elmwood Park), Bruce Wakefield (Burnside).

Non-Playing Captain - Maurice Symes (Blenheim) and Team Manager Brendan Hodgson (Stoke)