Two-day Classic honours Te Awamutu stalwart

Event News, News, Our People

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2020 Betty Gibson Women’s Two Day Classic winners Wendy Green, Lynette McIntosh, Ann Loomb, & Doreen Ryan – joined by Bowls New Zealand President Mark O’Connor.

Playing in the honour of former club member Betty Gibson, the Te Awamutu Bowling Club held yet another successful two-day Classic, filling both greens and welcoming bowlers from far and wide

The event, first initiated by Gibson herself, has now been going for a decade, and following her passing in 2018, the club aptly renamed the tournament, the Betty Gibson Women’s Two-Day Classic.

The Classic format saw teams compete in two rounds of fours and two rounds of pairs each day, with the first day’s results helping to split the competition in to a top flight (Top 16) and a bottom flight (remaining teams).

Attracting teams from as far north as Manurewa and as far south as New Plymouth, the club enjoyed a good mix of players, both locally and further afield.

Also making a special appearance, Bowls New Zealand President Mark O’Connor was on hand to present prizes for the top division, along with Betty’s husband Neil and their daughter Sue, both on hand to present prizes to the bottom division.

At the completion of play, Wendy Green’s Taupo/Mt Maunganui composite of Lynette McIntosh, Ann Loomb, & Doreen Ryan took out top spot with 70pts and a differential of +33, marginally ahead of Putaruru quartet Katrina Ensor, Judy Morr, Vere Hamilton and Shirley Wood – also finishing on 70pts, with a differential of +30.

Differential was also called on to separate third and fourth place, with local hopes Rosemary McGill, Lynda Bennett, Dawn Small and Nevenka Drnasin finishing on 60pts with a differential of +38, while Tauranga four Mary Solomon, Adrianne Owen-Jones, Margaret Roberts and Shella Crimlis rounded out fourth spot with 60pts and a differential of +30.

In other results, Tokoroa entrants Ann Bernard, Binnie Hewson, Heather Cox and Cath Sullivan took out top spot in the bottom division, reaching 60pts and a differential of +24, while runner-ups Wendy Weinberg, Daphne Finn, Dawn Adams and Linda Sattler, of Piopio, also tallied 60pts, albeit with a differential of +14.

Meanwhile, another local side in Jean Wallis, Pat Oliver, Dawn Highman and Gill Jones secured third place, while Taupo’s Liz Witton, Mizzy Fitzgerald, Janice Collier and Edith Hewitt edged fourth spot, securing 40pts and a differential of -4.

Rounding out the prizegiving, Witton’s clubmates Sandra Burrows, Marlene Jordon, Janice Hopkins and Dot Pope were awarded the Day One consolation prize, recording the best record across the four rounds, though not featuring in the winning teams overall.

The Betty Gibson Two-Day Women’s Classic will return in February next year.

by Sam Morton