Robertson composite powers to Arawa Classic Win

Event News, Featured, News

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bart Robertson and his Hamilton/North Harbour composite side of Dave Eades, Garry Cotter and Steve Liddington have taken out the silverware at the 2020 Arawa Bowling Club’s Speight’s Optional Classic Fours, winning their respective section with a promising run of form on day three.

Held in the Rotorua province, the Arawa flagship event attracted 20 line-ups from both within and outside of the area – with all teams playing fours and pairs throughout the three-day event.

Recognised as part of the Bowls New Zealand’ Summer of Bowls programme, the event, which is now in its 45th year, comprised twelve rounds of section play, before post-section on day three.

With two sections of 10, each team contests twelve rounds over the first two days, with the top eight teams progressing to Division One, and the remaining teams dropping to Section Two.

As per the event format, each team played fours, two rounds of pairs and a further round of fours on each qualifying day, before progressing to the post-section format – carrying their cumulative match points forward (2pts for a win, 1pt for a draw).

During post-section, the scoring system changed, with four points for a win and two points for a draw, with teams only playing two rounds of fours and one round of pairs – totalling four games.

2020 Speight’s Arawa Fours champions Dave Eades, Garry Cotter, Steve Liddington, Bart Robertson, flanked by tournament sponsor and 99-year-old long serving Arawa club member.

The final results saw Robertson and Co take out top spot with 30 match points in Division One – winning all but one game in post-section, while Ohope’s M Sarginson finished just two points behind on 28 points. Local hopes A McCaulay finished in third place, while Kensington’s G Bond rounded out the placings with 26 points securing fourth place.

Meanwhile, Hillcrest’s N Clarke wrapped up section two with ease, remaining unbeaten throughout post section to take maximum points and finish on 29 match points, one win ahead of section runner-ups P Burgess of Whangamata, and several points ahead of another Arawa side, G Gunn, concluding the event with 20pts.

Other placings saw Hinuera’s E Maber finish fifth in section one, while Tauranga Domain’s R Brunton and team wrapped up their event with fifth in section two.

The Speights Optional Classic Fours will return again in 2021.

Results at a Glance
2020 Speight’s Optional Classic Fours, Rotorua

Section One
1st: B Robertson (Hamilton/North Harbour Composite)
2nd: M Sarginson (Ohope)
3rd: A McCaulay (Arawa)
4th: G Bond (Kensington)
5th: E Maber (Hinuera)

Section Two
1st: N Clarke (Hillcrest)
2nd: P Burgess (Whangamata)
3rd: G Gunn (Arawa)
4th: C Gosse (Ngongotaha)
5th: R Brunton (Tauranga Domain)

by Sam Morton