Photo finish at Tauranga South Women’s Pairs

Event News, News

The composite pairing of Gayle Melrose and Mary Campbell ran out narrow victors of the 2019 Tauranga South Copper Crest Women’s Invitational Pairs last weekend, edging top spot by a matter of conceded points throughout section play.

Now in its 7th year, the annual tournament attracted 42 combinations from as far south as Invercargill to the winterless Far North, with three greens required for qualifying on day one.

The event, which included past and present New Zealand representatives, among dozens of established provincial representatives and multiple centre-title holders, was officially endorsed as part of the Bowls New Zealand Summer of Bowls programme, with teams playing out four games of qualifying and three games of post-section, round-robin play on day two.

Following the qualifying action, the top 14 pairings comprised Division A, the next best 14 comprised Division B and the final 14 rounded out Division C.

After three rounds of top level play in Division A, Melrose and Campbell, along with St Helier’s duo Catherine Bien and Ling Qu, both finished with three wins and incredibly, an identical differential of +37.

However, Melrose and Campbell’s three matches saw them concede only 22 points, while for Bien and Qu, they dropped 30 points, gifting the silverware to the composite duo of Melrose and Campbell in the closest of finishes since the tournament’s inception.

Other pairings to perform well in Division A included the composite side of Cathy Andrews and Robyn Davis and the Katikati hopefuls of Janet Alexander and Hien Mack, both line-ups registering two wins and a loss with the same differential, though Alexander conceding less points to finish third overall.

Meanwhile, Glenfield’s Denise Samuels and Paris Baker topped Division B as the only team with three wins, while Omanu pairing Patsy Jorgensen and Adrienne Jones were the next best with two wins and a differential of +14.

In other results, the composite line-up of Alison Rennie and Ann Muir took the spoils in Division C, finishing as the only unbeaten side, with Jasmine Merrick and Sally Lavis closing out their campaign with two wins and a differential of +22, to secure second place.

-Sam Morton

Division A
Winner: Gayle Melrose and Mary Campbell (Composite)
Runner Up: Catherine Bien, Ling Qu (St Helier’s)

Division B
Winner: Denise Samuels and Paris Baker (Glenfield)
Runner Up: Patsy Jorgensen, Adrienne Jones (Omanu)

Division C           
Winner: Alison Rennie and Anne Muir (Composite)
Runner Up:    Jasmine Merrick, Sally Lavis (Composite)