

MINUTES OF THE 25th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NEW ZEALAND

HELD AT
PONSONBY BOWLING CLUB,

105A JERVOIS RD, PONSONBY, AUCKLAND
AND
BY MICROSOFT TEAMS VIDEO CALL

ON SATURDAY, 12TH SEPTEMBER 2020 AT 10.00AM

1. OPENING AND WELCOME

The Chair opened the meeting by welcoming those present to the 25th Annual General Meeting, with a special welcome to Life Members Jean Ashby and Peter Belliss, also Wayne Tukiri from RSM Hayes and Byron Thomas of Sport New Zealand.

2. OBITUARIES

Kevin 'KD' Darling - New Zealand Representative (Cap 57) 1980-1990.

3. <u>IN ATTENDANCE</u>

Tony Lepper, Chair Mark O'Connor, President Jan Tucker, Vice President Sharon Rimmer, Board Member Craig Bruce, Board Member Allan Smith, Board Member Malikah Mitha, Board Member Mark Cameron, CEO

Centre Delegates (eligible votes)

Dion Davis	Bowls Far North (1)	Garry Muriwai	Bowls Wairarapa (1)
Trevor Reader	Bowls Northland (3)	Noeleen Davies	Bowls Kapiti Coast (2)
Maureen Taylor	Bowls North Harbour (4)	Nigel Dixon	Bowls Wellington (4)
Michael Feek	Auckland Bowls (5)	Maurice Symes	Bowls Marlborough (1)
Adrienne Tilyard	Bowls Counties Manukau (1)	Diane Holland	Bowls Nelson (2)
Barry Chapman	Bowls Waikato (3)	David Beattie	Bowls Buller (1)
Murray Galloway	Thames Valley Bowls (2)	Stuart Oliver	Bowls West Coast (1)
Stephen Goldsbury	Bowls Gisborne-East Coast (1)	Lorraine McLeod	Bowls Canterbury (7)
Ross Harvey	Bowls Bay of Plenty (3)	Terry Nally	Bowls South Canterbury (2)
Grant Sargison	Bowls Hawkes Bay (2)	Ruth Grant	Central Otago Bowls (2)
Grant Hassell	Bowls Taranaki (3)	Jan Tucker	Bowls Dunedin (3)
Ray Wilson	Bowls Wanganui (1)	Greame Soper	Bowls Southland (3)
Sharon Sims	Bowls Manawatu (2)		

ALSO PRESENT: Bowls New Zealand Staff and Observers.

4. APOLOGIES

Bowls South Otago Ann Muir and Martin Christensen (Life Members) Pat Carrick (Nelson) and Paul Hunt (Tauranga)

MOVED: Jan Tucker SECONDED: Nigel Dixon CARRIED

5. <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE 24th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NZ – HELD IN</u> AUCKLAND ON 14TH SEPTEMBER 2019

"That the Minutes of the 24th Annual General Meeting of Bowls New Zealand, held in Auckland on 14th September 2019 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting."

MOVED: Maurice Symes SECONDED: Maureen Taylor CARRIED

6. RECEIVING OF THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE BOARD FOR THE 12 MONTHS ENDING 30TH JUNE 2020, TOGETHER WITH STATEMENT OF INCOME AND EXPENDITURE AND AUDITED STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS FOR BOWLS NZ FOR THE FINANCIAL PERIOD

Chair Tony Lepper spoke to his report.

President Mark O'Connor spoke to her report.

The CEO then addressed the meeting by speaking to the financials.

RECEIVING THE AUDITORS REPORT ON THE ACCOUNTS OF BOWLS NZ FOR THE PRECEDING FINANCIAL YEAR

"That the Annual Report including the Statement of Income and Expenditure and Audited Statement of Accounts for Bowls New Zealand for the Financial year together with the Auditor's Report on the Accounts of Bowls New Zealand for the preceding Financial year be received, approved and adopted."

MOVED: Dion Davis SECONDED: Nigel Dixon CARRIED

7. ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT OF BOWLS NEW ZEALAND

The roles of Bowls New Zealand President and Vice-President were not considered at this 2020 AGM, as both roles were appointed in September 2019 to two-year terms.

8. THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF BOWLS NZ

"The nomination by the Board Selection Panel for the reappointment of sitting members Sharon Rimmer and Malikah Mitha were approved for a three year term"

MOVED: Michael Feek SECONDED: Dion Davis CARRIED

9. THE APPOINTMENT OF AN AUDITOR FOR THE NEXT FINANCIAL YEAR

"That RSM Hayes be appointed as the Auditors for Bowls New Zealand for the 2020/2021 financial year."

MOVED: Trevor Reader SECONDED: Ross Harvey CARRIED

10. THE APPOINTMENT OF A PERSON TO THE BOARD SELECTION PANEL AND A DEPUTY

"That John Hanning be re-appointed to the Board Selection Panel, should he be accepting of this role."

MOVED: Maurice Symes SECONDED: Sharon Sims CARRIED

11. CONSIDERING AND DETERMINING ANY NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH PROPOSE ALTERATIONS TO THE CONSTITUTION OF WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

There are NO notices of motion which proposed alterations to the constitution, for consideration at this Annual General Meeting.

12. <u>CONSIDERING AND MAKING RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE BOARD AS A RESULT OF ANY OTHER NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN</u>

There were NO other notices of motion for consideration at this Annual General Meeting.

13. OTHER BUSINESS

Mark O'Connor (President) announced the 2019/2020 Summerset Award Winners, with special recognition to Katelyn Inch as the 2019/2020 Summerset Supreme Award winner.

There was no other General Business.

Meeting Closed at 10:32am with thanks to the Ponsonby Bowling Club for the use of their facilities.