MINUTES OF THE 26th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NEW ZEALAND

HELD AT BY MICROSOFT TEAMS VIDEO CALL



ON SATURDAY, 11TH SEPTEMBER 2021 AT 10.00AM

1. OPENING AND WELCOME

The Chair opened the meeting by welcoming those present to the 26th Annual General Meeting, with a special welcome to Life Members, Wayne Tukiri from RSM Hayes and Emma Rae of Sport New Zealand.

2. OBITUARIES

Barry Wynks QSM	Parajack #4
Ken Stott	
Michael Spring	
Karen Trillo	Blackjack #31
Jan Tucker QSM	
Ann Lee	

3. IN ATTENDANCE

Tony Lepper, Chair Mark O'Connor, President Sharon Rimmer, Board Member Malikah Mitha, Board Member Mark Cameron, CEO

Centre Delegates (eligible votes)

Noeleen Davies Bowls Kapiti Coast (2) Trevor Reader Bowls Northland (3) Nigel Dixon Bowls Wellington (4) Maureen Taylor Bowls North Harbour (4) Maurice Symes Bowls Marlborough (1) Ian Dee Auckland Bowls (7) Pat Carrick Bowls Nelson (2) Pauline Hayward Bowls Counties Manukau (2) Barry Chapman Bowls Waikato (3) Lorraine McLeod Bowls Canterbury (7) Stephen Goldsbury Bowls Gisborne-East Coast (1) Terry Nally Bowls South Canterbury (2) Bill Murphy Bowls Bay of Plenty (3) Adrian Robins North Otago (1) Grant Sargison Bowls Hawkes Bay (3) Pauline Seaton Central Otago Bowls (2) Grant Hassell Bowls Taranaki (3) Ray Wilson Bowls Wanganui (1) Andy McLean Dunedin (3) Greame Soper Bowls Southland (3)

ALSO PRESENT: Bowls New Zealand Staff and Observers.

4. APOLOGIES

Bowls Manawatu, Phillip Huwyler, John Carter

MOVED: Pat Carrick (Nelson) SECONDED: Terry Nally (South Canterbury) CARRIED

5. <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE 25th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS NZ – HELD IN</u> <u>AUCKLAND ON 14TH SEPTEMBER 2019</u>

"That the Minutes of the 25th Annual General Meeting of Bowls New Zealand, held in Auckland and by Video Call, on 12th September 2020 be confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting." MOVED: Grant Hassell (Taranaki) SECONDED: Lorraine McLeod (Canterbury) CARRIED

6. <u>RECEIVING OF THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE BOARD FOR THE 12 MONTHS ENDING 30TH JUNE 2021,</u> <u>TOGETHER WITH STATEMENT OF INCOME AND EXPENDITURE AND AUDITED STATEMENT OF</u> <u>ACCOUNTS FOR BOWLS NZ FOR THE FINANCIAL PERIOD</u>

Chair Tony Lepper spoke to his report and as part of his report he acknowledged retiring President Mark O'Connor and retiring Board member Allan Smith, thanking them for their contribution to Bowls New Zealand.

President Mark O'Connor spoke to his report.

The CEO then addressed the meeting by speaking to the financials.

RECEIVING THE AUDITORS REPORT ON THE ACCOUNTS OF BOWLS NZ FOR THE PRECEDING FINANCIAL YEAR

"That the Annual Report including the Statement of Income and Expenditure and Audited Statement of Accounts for Bowls New Zealand for the Financial year, together with the Auditor's Report on the Accounts of Bowls New Zealand for the preceding Financial year be received, approved and adopted." MOVED: Maurice Symes (Marlborough) SECONDED: Grant Hassell (Taranaki) CARRIED

7. ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT OF BOWLS NEW ZEALAND

As only one nomination for both President and Vice-President was received, the Chair confirmed that an election by ballot was not necessary.

The Chair therefore confirmed that Ann Wright (Canterbury) was duly elected President and Phillip Huwyler (Wanganui) elected Vice-President of Bowls New Zealand, both to two-year terms.

8. THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF BOWLS NZ

"The Bowls New Zealand Board Selection Panel recommended that Mark O'Connor (Wellington) be appointed to the Board of Bowls New Zealand for a three-year term" MOVED: Trevor Reader (Northland) SECONDED: Ian Dee (Auckland) CARRIED

9. BOWLS NEW ZEALAND CLUB AFFILIATION FEE FOR 2121/2022

The Chair confirmed that the November 2021 Club Affiliation fee will increase by the annual published CPI (1.5%).

10. THE APPOINTMENT OF AN AUDITOR FOR THE NEXT FINANCIAL YEAR

"That RSM Hayes be appointed as the Auditors for Bowls New Zealand for the 2021/2022 financial year." MOVED Grant Hassell (Taranaki) SECONDED: Pauline Hayward (Counties Manukau) CARRIED

11. THE APPOINTMENT OF A PERSON TO THE BOARD SELECTION PANEL AND A DEPUTY

As there were no nominations received by the Delegates prior to the AGM for the position of Board Selection Panel, the Chair asked for a nomination from the floor which also received no nominations. The Chair then confirmed that the Bowls New Zealand Board and CEO would consult with the Centres at a later date, to ensure the Centres had a representative on the 2022 Board Selection Panel.

12. <u>CONSIDERING AND DETERMINING ANY NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH PROPOSE ALTERATIONS TO</u> <u>THE CONSTITUTION OF WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN</u>

There was one notice of motion which proposed alterations to the constitution.

"That Rule 8.4 in the Bowls New Zealand constitution be deleted in entirely".

8.4 Clearance Certificate

Any Individual Member who resigns, or has their membership terminated from a Club or who is a member of a Club or Clubs ("First Club/s") and wishes to join another Club ("Second Club"), upon clearing all outstanding financial obligations to the First Club/s and/or the Centre and/or Bowls NZ shall be given by such First Club/s (as applicable), a clearance certificate in the form prescribed by Bowls NZ confirming that she/he is financial. No Club shall admit to membership any person who is or has been a member of another Club unless such a clearance certificate is produced.

MOVED: Maureen Taylor (North Harbour) SECONDED: Adrian Robins (North Otago) CARRIED

13. <u>CONSIDERING AND MAKING RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE BOARD AS A RESULT OF ANY OTHER</u> NOTICES OF MOTION WHICH DUE AND PROPER NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

There were NO other notices of motion for consideration at this Annual General Meeting.

14. OTHER BUSINESS

Life Membership

Mark O'Connor (President) spoke to the nomination for Honorary Life Membership to Bowls New Zealand of Mr John Carter (Wellington).

MOVED: Grant Hassell (Taranaki) SECONDED: Lorraine McLeod (Canterbury) CARRIED

2021 SUMMERSET AWARDS

The 2021 Summerset Award Winners were announced, with special recognition to Val Smith as the 2021 Summerset Supreme Award winner.

Pauline Hayward (Counties Manukau) asked that Ann Lee be acknowledged as an obituary.

There was no other General Business.

Meeting Closed at 10:44am, with thanks to all delegates and observers for their attendance.